Antique Radios Forum

This is the temporary home of the Antique Radio Forums while a new server to host it is being found. You will have to register here to post. Please Note: None of these topics will be preserved when the original forums are back.

HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

Another Cisco Problem :(

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
postie

PostSubject: Another Cisco Problem :(   Thu Oct 21, 2010 2:47 pm

Hello Everyone,
Now that you guys have helped me identify the Cisco...actually a Detrola 571...I decided to start working on it a little. Please remember I am really new to this stuff so thought this might be a good practice radio.

Plugged in it does nothing. I started out with a variac, then just plain plugged it in. Nothing. So, first thing I replaced the power cord, which was totally dry rotted. Next thing, I replaced the lamp. Powered up the radio and the lamp lit briefly and blew out quickly. I have not tested any tubes yet.

Thought someone here might know right off something that would commonly cause the dial lamp to blow immediately. I'll proceed on...hopefully with some help here Smile If it's a short, I already know I'm sunk...hoping for some other answer...lol
Thanks ahead!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
jack shirley

PostSubject: Re: Another Cisco Problem :(   Thu Oct 21, 2010 2:56 pm

The lamp acts somewhat like a fuse for the B+ voltage in this circuit. First order of business would be to replace the filter capacitors, c10 in this schematic.
http://www.nostalgiaair.org/PagesByModel/075/M0004075.pdf

Here's a good page you should read up on. Note particularly the section about replacing capacitors. They get old and dried out and produce a partial or full short on the B+ voltage. Hence the 'fuse' blowing. The C10 filters are first out of the gate and they are electrolytic types which DO commonly dry out or leak internally.

http://www.antiqueradio.org/begin.htm