Antique Radios Forum

This is the temporary home of the Antique Radio Forums while a new server to host it is being found. You will have to register here to post. Please Note: None of these topics will be preserved when the original forums are back.

HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

any info on this RCA console?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
tuberadiogeek

PostSubject: any info on this RCA console?   Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:41 pm

i came across this RCA console on my local CL, http://limaohio.craigslist.org/ele/2018514934.html the guy says it works, but only 1 of the 3 speakers are working on it. he says theres no apparent model number on it that he can locate. is anyone here familiar with this certain make/model? or can give any info on it and if i should jump on it or avoid it? and possibly a safe price range on it as it sits. (as i'm still learning about antique radios) thanks Ben-
Back to top Go down
View user profile
oldradioparts

PostSubject: Re: any info on this RCA console?   Thu Oct 21, 2010 8:09 pm

That set is mid to late 60's. Probably solid state. The side speakers connect thru the hinges, and they may have wires that connect to jacks in the back of the main cabinet. Might be why they are dead. The record player and amp will need servicing usually. Lots to do on these.

Mark Oppat
www.oldradioparts.net
Back to top Go down
View user profile
tuberadiogeek

PostSubject: Re: any info on this RCA console?   Thu Oct 21, 2010 8:19 pm

ok, well he said it had tubes in it. so is it something worth getting if i can get it cheap enough? or will it present too many problems for me being a novice?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JG Jackson

PostSubject: Re: any info on this RCA console?   Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:11 pm